Can you? Will you?

Superfast Jellyfish.

In New Tracks on February 26, 2010 at 11:16 am

This was a nice morning surprise.

I am a big Gorillaz fan for many reasons. The major one of note: they played a huge role in where I am today, mainly in terms of my interest in music. I bought Gorillaz when it came out in 2001, at the timid age of 10 (the characters scared the shit out of me, but I loved Clint Eastwood). At that time, I wasn’t prepared for the rest of the album, I loathed it all apart from 19-2000 and put it away, never listening to it again.

Until I turned 14, when I spun the disc again and realised how good it was. From there, I discovered Damon Albarn and Blur, my undisputable favourite band, which got me in to others things and it all simply snowballed. Needless to say, I have a softspot for these virtual characters. I was excited when I heard that Albarn was producing a third LP, Plastic Beach. A month later, Stylo came out. It was a bit different to previous Gorillaz tracks, but the 3-way vocals on it are infectious. Now we have heard another track which was released on Youtube today, Superfast Jellyfish.

De La Soul are back, and with them is Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals (who oddly sounds like Mr. Albarn on the track). The whole track plays out like a children’s commerical. Synths and grooving basslines and REAL DRUMS play in the background. It is absolutely fantastic, and delightfully silly. It is a Gorillaz track more that Stylo. It is a better track than it too. If the rest of the album is this good, we have another great Gorillaz release impending.

Watch out for my review on March 5 (this rant will shorten it considerably). And one last note, it is impressive to see that the album hasn’t leaked yet. These days, that is an achievement in itself.

Superfast Jellyfish (Youtube).

Leave a comment